February 26, 2010

Woke up This Morning… a Homeowner

Posted in musings tagged , , , at 7:48 am by silversprung

Today was my first day waking up as a homeowner, and let me tell you, it’s definitely a mix of excitement and fear. The house is even better than we remembered, but I already got freaked out because we couldn’t find the water meter.

I thought, “we don’t know anything about owning a home!” several times during the walk-through. What if a pipe breaks? The floor caves in?

So our move-in date is not for three weeks. We actually contemplated just going over there last night and drinking a bottle of champagne in the empty living room. But we had dinner instead. Silver Spring, here I come.

4 Comments »

  1. Sligo said,

    Welcome to the neighborhood!

    • silversprung said,

      Thanks Sligo. Your blog is fantastic! Can’t wait to read more.

  2. Ed said,

    Welcome! I remember only a scant 20 years ago the first night in our SS house. We’re in the Indian Spring subdivision and we’re still here. Invited my brother and sister over, made the first fire in our fireplace. Sat in the otherwise empty house in lawn chairs, drinking and watching the fire.
    Perfect.

  3. Jenn G said,

    I loved this post. My boyfriend and I moved to Silver Spring (I’m originally from NJ and he’s from Scotland) this past September. We’re learning the area too, I’ll chime in with any helpful info I can offer. We bought a house in White Oak. It was my first house (his second). We also considered camping out in the house the day we bought it 🙂 We didn’t but we did have a pizza “picnic” in the kitchen the night we moved in, which was still fun. Welcome!


Leave a Reply

