March 17, 2010

Commute This!

Posted in musings tagged , , , , , , , , , , at 10:23 am by silversprung

It’s been four days since we’ve moved to Silver Spring and the absence of an Internet connection is definitely impeding my ability to blog (okay, it’s completely destroying it.) But anyway, I think I’ll have that problem solved tonight so check back tomorrow for more frequent posting.

In the meantime, I wanted to bring up the subject of commuting. Between silversprung spouse and I, we’ve covered all the bases so far- Beltway during rush hour, Silver Spring Ride-On buses, metro from Silver Spring, metro at Takoma.

I’m used to underground metro-ing so it was nice to see that Silver Spring to downtown DC is above-ground. But I was struck by the fact that enormous, continuous graffiti lines the entire route. I know there are obviously more pressing things to crack down on, but still, that’s an entire seven miles of “JUJU” and “Freak” and a giant “Obama Hates Borf” at Takoma.  (Remember Borf?) One upside: I can glance up at the graffiti and know what stop we’ve reached.

Has the graffiti always been there or is it a recent development?

What’s your commute like in the area? Any tricks of the trade we should know?

4 Comments »

  1. Terry in Silver Spring said,

    The graffitti has been there in various forms for years. A while back, there was an article in the Post insisting that a lot of it was the work of a group of art students are a local university. It’s not gang tag patterns apparently.

    My commute is walking a little less than a mile from my apartment to work. If there weren’t those big old hills in DTSS, my commute would be a breeze. 🙂

  2. I can’t remember a time when the graffiti was not there – last week was on a train with a few young kids who got onn witheir pop – they LOVED looking at all the “art” – “daddy, read that one” they all crowed at particularly colorfulones – that said some of the private biz like Extra Storage near MoCo College could throw some white paint over some of the more offensive words and nude images.

  3. Jacob said,

    The graffiti probably predates the Metro in the CSX right-of-way. Cool “Disco” Dan was a standout in the mid-to-late 1980s.

  4. Jen from TP/pinkstate said,

    (Last time I commented, WordPress automatically signed me in as pinkstate – just wanted you to know you have repeat visitors!)

    There has been graffiti along the Red Line since at least 1993 when I first started riding it. That was the heyday of DC tagger extraordinaire, Cool “Disco” Dan. Anyway, I like the art (no quotes). It’s a lot more interesting than looking at a lot of grey cinderblock.


Leave a Reply

